May 3, 2018 – 9:00 – 10:30 am

Lake Michigan Room, NIRPC Office 6100 Southport Rd. Portage, IN 46368

Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance 9:00

Introductions 9:05

NIRPC Business:

  1. Approval of March 1, 2018 EMPC Meeting Minutes 9:10

  2. Status of USX Chromium Spill Settlement Agreement 9:15

    - Kathy Luther, Natalie Johnson

    Main Event:

  3. 2050 Plan Vision and Goals Input 9:25

- Dominique Edwards, NIRPC Public Participation Planner

Announcements 10:15

Adjourn 10:30



Next NIRPC EMPC Meeting - June 7, 2018 9 am

TTY users may access the Relay Indiana Service by calling 711 or 1-800-743-3333.

Requests for alternative formats may be made 48 hours in advance by contacting Mary Thorne

at 219-763-6060, ext. 131 or email to

The Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC) prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the

basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, marital status, familial status, parental status, sexual

orientation, genetic information, political beliefs, reprisal, or because all or part of an individual's income is derived from any

public assistance program.


NIRPC- Lake Michigan Room April 5, 2018


Members/Guests: Bill Emerson, Jr., Jeannette Bapst, Geof Benson, George Topoll, Carolyn Saxton, Dave Lampe, Russell Hodge, Sarah Nimetz, Lynda Lancaster, Reggie Korthals, Sherryl Doerr, Tim Kingsland, Cherie Fishert, Lynne Westphal, Michael Kuss, Carl Wodrich, David Carr, Brad Baldwin, Derek Schmitt, Jim Semelka, Michaelle Caldwell, Gene Fleming, Cathy Mrain, Lauri Keagle, Leslie Dorwath, Drew Hart, Maggie Byrne, Kris Krouse, George Malis, Erin Steinhilber, Gary Brown, Joyce Newland, Elizabeth McCloskey, Peg Donnelly, Dave Banks, Tom D (resident), Brenda Scott Henry, Jennifer Gadzala, Kyle Darton, Katherine Moore Powell, Richard Underkofler and Susan Mihalo.

NIRPC Staff: Trey Wadsworth, Kathy Luther, Joe Exl, Dominique Edwards and Mary Thorne.

Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Bill Emerson, Jr., called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and self-introductions.

NIRPC Business:

  1. Approval of Minutes

    On motion by Geof Benson and a second by Tim Kingsland, the March 1, 2018 EMPC meeting minutes were approved as presented.

  2. 2050 Plan Development Milestones

    Trey Wadsworth presented an overview of the development of NIRPC’s 2050 Plan, which will be brought before the Commission for adoption at its meeting in May of 2019.

  3. Kathy Luther introduced Dominique Edwards, NIRPC’s new Public Participation Planner.


    Carl Wodrich, Director of Ecological Services, Indiana Department of Natural Resources, presented on the Indiana Stream and Wetland Mitigation Program. This program will fulfill mitigation permits as required by the Army Corps of Engineers, Indiana Department of Environmental Management, Department of Natural Resources, Division of Water. For more information, contact Carl Wodrich at 317-232-1291 or The program may be viewed at

    Urban Waters Updates

grants, Groundwork USA Funding and Technical Assistance, Forest Service GLRI grants, Quick Impact Placebased grants, and NPS Challenge Cost-share grants.

The following updates were provided by partners:

The next meeting of the Environmental Management Policy Committee will be held on May 3, 2018 at 9 a.m.

Hearing no other business, Bill Emerson adjourned the meeting at noon.

A Digital MP3 of this meeting is filed. Contact Mary Thorne at 219-763-6060 or should you wish to receive a copy of it.