Surface Transportation Committee (STC) Meeting Thursday, April 2, 2019, 9:00 AM

NIRPC Lake Michigan Room, 6100 Southport Road, Portage, IN Annotated Agenda

1.0 Welcome and Introductions (Chair)

2.0 Public Comment (Chair)

3.0 Approval of February 5, 2019 Minutes p. 1 (Chair)


    1. NIRPC Staff Updates (Staff)

    2. NWI 2050 Plan

    3. 2020-2024 Transportation Improvement Program

    4. Transportation Conformity Demonstration for the NWI 2050 Plan and 2020-2024 Transportation Improvement Program

5.0 Other Business (Chair)

6.0 Next Meeting

The next Surface Transportation Committee meeting is scheduled for June 4, 2019 at 9 a.m. in the Lake Michigan Room at the NIRPC office.

7.0 Adjourn (Chair)


NIRPC Lake Michigan Room February 5, 2019


George Topoll called the meeting to order at 9:05 with the Pledge of Allegiance. In attendance were George Topoll, Union Township Trustee; Dean Button, City of Hammond; Dennis Cobb, First Group Engineering; Matt Zurbriggen, City of Valparaiso; Mark Gordish, City of Hammond; Duane Alverson, Lake County Highways; Jeff Huet, Town of Schererville; Mark O’Dell, Town of Chesterton; Craig Phillips, City of Michigan City; Beth Shrader, City of LaPorte; Tisha Nugent, DLZ; Eric Wolverton, ASI; Ron Wiedeman, REL Engineering; Don Oliphant, CBBEL and Christopher Murphy, Structurepoint.

NIRPC staff present were Scott Weber, Mitch Barloga, Dominique Edwards, Peter Kimball and Mary Thorne.

There was no public comment.

The minutes of the January 3, 2019 meeting were approved on a motion by Dean Button and a second by Jeff Huet.

The committee reviewed the scoring of the three NOFA new roadways applications for Lake and Porter Counties. The scores were finalized.

The committee reviewed the scoring of the 29 NOFA roadway improvement applications. Michigan City had seven; LaPorte had three; La Porte County had one; Valparaiso had four; Portage had one; Merrillville had two; Hobart had two; Hammond had three; Griffith had one; Gary had two; Crown Point had two; Cedar Lake had one. There were some staff scoring changes prior to the meeting. By consensus, all the scores were finalized live. There were a couple of issues which will be reviewed after the meeting. Scott Weber will send the final updated scores to the committee via email for final weigh in prior to the Technical Planning Committee meeting on February 12 at 10 a.m.

Scott Weber reported that just over 1700 responses were received for the Household Travel Survey update.

Scott Weber reported that the Congestion Management Process was being updated based on the probe travel time data and the travel time runs conducted on the corridors. A public comment opportunity will be available later this summer.

Regarding the safety data update, Scott Weber said the severity index maps were created. Efforts will continue to make it easier for communities to have that information for HSIP funding determination.

The next Surface Transportation Committee meeting is scheduled for April 2 at 9 a.m. at NIRPC. Hearing no other business George Topoll adjourned the meeting at 10:30 a.m.