Transportation Resource Oversight Committee Meeting (Lake & Porter Counties)

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

9:00 am CST at NIRPC Office, Lake Michigan Room


  1. Call to Order by Chairman and Pledge of Allegiance

    6100 Southport Road

    Portage, Indiana 46368

    (219) 763-6060

  2. Meeting Minutes of August 27, 2019


  3. Public Comments

    This is an opportunity for comments from members of the audience. The amount of time available to speak will be limited to 3 minutes. Commenters must indicate their wish to comment on the sign-in sheet.

  4. 2020-2024 Transportation Improvement Program

    1. 1382010 Portage Samuelson Rd – CN programed for 2023; $3,000,000 City wishes to re-program funds to 1173430 – Phase 2

      ACTION REQUESTED: Approval

    2. Movement of projects leaves a huge hole in 2021 (Special meeting in December to discuss/resolve

      ACTION REQUESTED: For Discussion

    3. 0900080 Portage Intersection Improvement Letting award $1,338,942.83 ($1,071,154 fed).

      ACTION REQUESTED: Informational

    4. DES number request forms still needed from 5 different LPAs

      ACTION REQUESTED: Informational

  5. New Business

    1. Any New Business not discussed earlier

  6. Adjournment.

    1. The next regularly scheduled TROC Lake/Porter Meeting is scheduled for February 25, 2020 at 9 a.m. in the Lake Michigan Room at the NIRPC office.

    2. A special TROC meeting will be December 11, 2019 at 9 a.m. in the Lake Michigan Room at the NIRPC office.

Transportation Resource & Oversight Committee Lake & Porter Counties

6100 Southport Road, Portage August 27, 2019 Meeting Minutes

In attendance were Dean Button (Hammond), Jeff Hue (Schererville), Mark O’Dell (Chesterton), Dan Nikesh (Crown Point), A. J. Bednar (Gary), Adam Calpine (Valparaiso), William Allen (East Chicago), George Topoll (Union Township), Bob Thompson (Porter County), A.J. Monroe, Tim Hollands worth (INDOT), Dennis Cobb, Trisha Nugent, Terry Martin, Heather Evans, Jake Dammar ell, and Don Oliphant.

NIRPC staff included Charles Bradsky and Candice Eklund. Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance

Charles called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Charles conveyed his heartfelt sentiments on the passing of Mary Thorne. Mary was an Administrative Assistant with NIRPC for over 13 years and had become the point of contact for many in the region as they interfaced with NIRPC.

Approval of Minutes

On motion by Adam McAlpine and second by Dean Button, the May 28, 2019 TROC Lake and Porter meeting minutes were approved as presented.

Engage NWI PUBLIC Participation Plan

Charles Bradsky provided an overview of the Public Participation Plan (PPP) that was adopted at the Full Commission meeting on August 15, 2019. Charles also discussed the differences between an amendment and an administrative modification.

An Amendment is when: any phase of any project is added or construction phase or transit project deleted; any addition of funds over $100,000; change to an air quality non-exempt project; project scope change that alters original intent of project or change to policy or programming rules. A twenty-day comment period is also required.

A Modification is: a project moving year to year (but not out of the TIP); project fund source change; project is split into multiple construction segments; addition of funds under $100,000 or typographical changes.

2020-2024 Transportation Improvement Program Proposed Amendment

Charles Bradsky discussed the proposed Amendment #2, which was recommended by the TPC working group, and the proposed changes to the 2020-2024 TIP. The City of Crown Point relinquished funding for DES #1601158 to the state, to support the roundabout at 109th and I-65. DES #1901904 was awarded to the City of Hammond at the February TPC meeting. Hammond has since requested the elimination of this project and requested $180,000 be moved to

DES #1601145 for ROW. The City of Hammond applied for Next Level Trail funding since their project, NIRPC260048, was not awarded at the February TPC meeting. The TIP continuous working group reallocated this funding in the 2020-2024 TIP towards the Veteran’s Trail and the roundabout project in Valparaiso. Charles also reported on the newly added project for Chrisman Road, which will use demonstration funds. The Samuelson Road project has been cancelled as a result of the CSX railroad charging 4 million dollars to build a run-a-round. The FHWA gave approval for this funding to be reprogrammed to the Chrisman Road/Willowcreek Road project, DES #1902124.

On motion by George Topoll and Second by Mark O’Dell, the committee voted to recommend Amendment #2.

Regional Transportation Improvement Program (RTIP)

Charles Bradsky noted consultants can obtain read-only access to the RTIP system to view projects for the communities they support. The municipalities will need to send an email to Charles at ‘’ to request access.

Charles provided an overview on the features of the RTIP system, how to submit an amendment and outlined the steps to submit quarterly tracking reports. The 2020-2024 TIP will be available in the RTIP system by September 6, 2019.

New Business

INDOT is reinforcing their policy of communities only being allowed to submit one invoice per month, per project. If more than one invoice is submitted, INDOT will decline the invoice unless prior approval has been given.

The TIP Continuous Improvement working group conducted their final meeting in August. The working group devised a solution and agreed to award funding to the six projects that were discussed.

A TROC monthly report will be coming soon. The report will include letting results, project programming risk assessments based on quarterly tracking meetings, updates on fiscal constraints, and yearly funding availability of the TIP. Contact Charles to request additional information on the report.

Public Comments

There were no public comments.


There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 9:57 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for November 26, 2019 at 9:00 a.m.