6100 Southport Road

Portage, Indiana 46368

(219) 763-6060

Surface Transportation Committee (STC) Meeting

Tuesday, December 1, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.

Zoom Meeting Information: Meeting Link: Meeting ID: 967 8437 8613

Passcode: 359155

Dial in: (312) 626-6799

Annotated Agenda

1.0 Call to Order by Chairman and Pledge of Allegiance

2.0 Minutes of November 10, 2020 (pp. 1 - 3)

Action Requested: Approval

3.0 Reviewing Notice of Funding Availability NOFA Applications (Scott Weber)

Staff will review the Surface Transportation Committee-assigned project applications of the Fiscal Years (FY) 2025-2026 Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA) that were not reviewed at the November 10, 2020 meeting and applications that have noted staff- approved changes since the November 10, 2020 meeting. Applicants will have an opportunity to briefly present their project(s) to the committee. Please click HERE to view the STC Applications Summary.

Action Requested: Recommendation to the Technical Planning Committee

4.0 Adjournment. The next STC meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, February 2, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. in the Lake Michigan Room at the NIRPC office.

The Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC) prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, marital status, familial status, parental status, sexual orientation, genetic information, political beliefs, reprisal, or because all or part of an individual’s income is derived from any public assistance program.


Virtual Meeting November 10, 2020 Minutes

This meeting was convened as an electronic meeting, pursuant to Governor Holcomb’s Executive Order 20-04 and 20-09, extended by Executive Order 20-47. All persons were meeting remotely on a Google Meet platform that allowed for real time interaction and supported the public’s ability to observe and record the proceedings. When the agenda item was provided for public comment, this was supported as well. A roll call was taken to motion and approve the agenda items.

Tom Schmitt called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and roll call. In attendance were Jeff Huet, Beth Shrader, Michael Duffy, Eric Wolverton, Jake Dammarell, Jill DiTommaso, Craig Phillips, Latent Csany, Lynn Gralik, Mark O’Dell, Amy Blaker, Greg Falkowski, Dean Button, Steve King, Gerald Swets, Michael Jabo, David Wright, George Topoll, Doug Brite, Dustin Anderson, Trisha Nugent, Robert Thompson, and Kevin Breitzke.

NIRPC staff present were Scott Weber, Kevin Polette, Candice Eklund, Peter Kimball, Charles Bradsky, Ty Warner, and Flor Baum.

There were no public comments.

The minutes of the August 4, 2020 meeting were approved on motion by Dean Button and second Steve King.

Review of NOFA Applications

Scott Weber reviewed the 2020 Notice of Funding Applications (NOFA) for New Roadways, and Roadway Improvements. Generally, the applications are similar to the Past NOFA. Please see below for the changes. There was a total of four New Roadways projects from four communities submitted. There was a total of 26 New Roadways projects from 16 communities submitted. However, three communities were not present. Scott reviewed the project scoring for each of the following projects. The scoring changes that were discussed and agreed on by the committee were made live by Scott. All supporting documentation discussed must be submitted to Scott Weber by November 20, 2020.

New Roadway Submissions:

There was no other business to discuss.

The Surface Transportation Committee will meet on December 3, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. to complete the NOFA Application Review.

Hearing no other business, the meeting adjourned at 4:30 p.m.