Land Use Committee

Thursday, January 7, 2021 at 10:30 a.m.

Zoom Info: Meeting ID: 952 8635 4329

Passcode: 945932

Call in: (312) 626-6799


6100 Southport Road

Portage, Indiana 46368

(219) 763-6060

1.0 Call to Order by Chairman Greg Stinson

2.0 Minutes of November 5, 2020 (pp. 1-2)

3.0 NOFA Applications Eman Ibrahim

4.0 TOD Project review Eman Ibrahim

5.0 Communities Update Everyone

6.0 The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday March 4, 2021 at 10:30 am

7.0 Adjournment


Requests for alternate formats please contact NIRPC at (219) 763-6060 or Individuals with hearing impairments may contact us through the Indiana Relay 711 service.

For Interpreter Services please contact NIRPC at (219) 763-6060 or 72 hours in advance of the scheduled meeting.

The Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC) prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, marital status, familial status, parental status, sexual orientation, genetic information, political beliefs, reprisal, or because all or part of an individual's income is derived from any public assistance program.


NIRPC Virtual Meeting November 5, 2020 Minutes

This meeting was convened as an electronic meeting, pursuant to Governor Holcomb’s Executive Order 20-04 and 20-09, extended by Executive Order 20-47. All persons were meeting remotely on a Google Meet platform that allowed for real time interaction and supported the public’s ability to observe and record the proceedings. When the agenda item was provided for public comment, this was supported as well. A roll call was taken to motion and approve the agenda items.

Greg Stinson called the meeting to order at 10:36 a.m. with a roll call. In attendance were Greg Stinson, Beth Shrader, Amy Blaker, Robert Thompson, Craig Phillips, George Topoll, Nick Bellar, David Wright, Nick Minich, Kevin Breitzke, Joyce Newland, Tom Vander Woude, Eric Wolverton, Trisha Nugent, and Sarah Nimetz.

NIRPC staff present were Eman Ibrahim, Ty Warner, Charles Bradsky, Flor Baum, Kevin Polette, Gabrielle Biciunas, and Candice Eklund.

The minutes of the August 6, 2020 meeting were approved on motion by Nick Bellar and second by George Topoll. With Greg Stinson, Beth Shrader, Amy Blaker, Robert Thompson, David Wright, George Topoll, Nick Bellar, and Nick Minich voting in the affirmative, and no one voting in the negative, the motion passed.

Review of NOFA Applications

Scott Weber reviewed the 2020 Notice of Funding Applications (NOFA) for new roadways, quality of place, and planning. There were a total of eight projects from six communities submitted. Eman reviewed the project scoring for each of the following projects. The scoring changes that were discussed and agreed on by the committee were made live by Eman. The total scoring for roadway projects will be provided at the Surface Transportation Committee (STC) meeting on November 10, 2020.

All supporting documentation discussed above must be submitted to Eman and Charles Bradsky by November 20, 2020. Eman Ibrahim thanked all of the communities for their hard work and time spent on their NOFA application submissions.

The next meeting of the Land Use Committee will be on January 7, 2021 at 10:30 a.m. Hearing no other business, the meeting adjourned at 12:34 p.m.