6100 Southport Road

Portage, Indiana 46368

(219) 763-6060


April 1, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.


Meeting ID: 985 1963 7597

Passcode: 880432

Call in: (312) 626-6799


1.0 Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance

2.0 Introductions

3.0 Meeting Minutes – January 7, 2021 (p. 1 - 2) ACTION REQUESTED – Approval

4.0 Public Comments

This is an opportunity for comments from members of the audience. The amount of time available to speak will be limited to 3 minutes. Commenters must indicate their wish to comment on the sign-in sheet.

5.0 Update on Regional Greenhouse Gas Inventory Project

Kathy Luther, NIRPC and Kathy Sipple NWI Region Resilience/Earth Charter Indiana

    1. Previous Northwest Indiana Climate Cohort Experiences

      • Gary - Celeste G. Kopperl, Sustainability Coordinator, Brenda Scott-Henry Director/MS4 Coordinator

      • Michigan City- Invited

7.0 Announcements

8.0 The Next EMPC Meeting is scheduled for July 1, 2021 at 9:00 am

9.0 Adjournment

The Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC) prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities based on race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, marital status, familial status, parental status, sexual orientation, genetic information, political beliefs, reprisal, or because all or part of an individual’s income is derived from any public assistance program.

Environmental Management Policy Committee NIRPC – Virtual Meeting

January 7, 2021 Minutes

This meeting was convened as an electronic meeting, pursuant to Governor Holcomb’s Executive Order 20-04 and 20-09, extended by Executive Order 20-50. All persons were meeting remotely on a Google Meet platform that allowed for real time interaction and supported the public’s ability to observe and record the proceedings. When the agenda item was provided for public comment, this was supported as well. A roll call was taken to motion and approve the agenda items.

Bill Emerson called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance and roll call.

In attendance were Katie Vallis (IDNR), Katie Hobgood (Save the Dunes), Jennifer Birchfield (Purdue Northwest), Chandramouli Chandramo (Purdue Northwest), Brenda Scott-Henry (Gary), Kris Krouse (Shirley Heinze), Jennifer Gadzela (Chesterton), Reggie Korthals (BFS), Jan Bapst (Dune Acres), Lauri Keagle (SSCC), Geof Benson (Beverly Shores), Jenny Orsburn (LMCP), Kay Nelson (Forum), Susan MiHalo (Nature Conservancy), George Topoll (Union Township), and Bill Emerson (Lake County).

NIRPC staff present were Kathy Luther, Meredith Stilwell, Candice Eklund, Joe Exl, Kevin Polette, and Flor Baum.

The meeting minutes of November 5, 2020 were approved on motion by Reggie Korthals and second by Jan Bapst. A roll call was taken, and the committee voted unanimously to approve.

There were no public comments.

Kathy Luther presented on the proposed 2021 EMPC schedule and planning. EMPC acts as one of several formal stakeholder advisory groups that NIRPC staffs and coordinates. Environmental responsibilities assigned to NIRPC are for Lake, LaPorte, and Porter counties. EMPC recognizes the value and interdependence of Northwest Indiana’s natural resources and economic strengths and encourages the use of those resources to meet current needs while ensuring adequate resources are available for future generations.

The committee focused on the following goals: To educate and inform about environmental issues, and to form coalitions to pursue cooperative approaches to environmental issues of mutual concern. Topics of interest for the 2021 EMPC meetings were discussed. Committee members will champion topics listed:

The EMPC meetings will continue to be held quarterly and are slated for April 1, July 1, and October

7. Workshops will be held in between the quarterly meetings and are slated for the following dates: February 4, March 4, May 6, June 3, August 5, September 2, November 4, and December 2.

There were no announcements.

The next EMPC meeting is scheduled for April 1, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. in the NIRPC offices. Hearing no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:24 a.m.